Month: May 2007

  • “If you need a job to give you a life, you either need a new job or a new life.” –Richard, Grey’s Anatomy

     

    Let’s go with bullets today, shall we?

    ·          The season finale of Grey’s made me want to vomit. It was absolutely dreadful & disappointing.

    ·          Speaking of disappointing, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t also terribly bummed in the result of the interaction I was having with a particular boy. Fuck.

    ·          And speaking of vomiting, I did last night. I hate barfing alone, & I always cry.

    ·          I begin my internship Wednesday, & I’m terrified. Also, I have no idea how I’m going to make any money this summer.

    ·          I enjoy going to the movies with my mother, even if I don’t want to move home with her this summer.

    ·          I feel like a creeper for liking Requiem for a Dream so much. Sam & I watched it tonight, & it’s weird as hell every single time. Still… <3

    ·          My sleeping schedule is jacked all to hell.

    ·          He either doesn’t know how much he’s hurting me, or he just doesn’t care, & that makes it hurt even more.

    ·          I’ve been looking at two places to live in D.C., one with an American U. grad student & another with a Catholic U. senior. Neither are cheap, but both are reasonable.

    ·          I miss Dave & wish Elise would come home from Texas. Also, Maddy is leaving this weekend, & I think Kurt is scared of hanging out with me. Also, I need more friends who are girls.

     

    I suppose that’s it for now. How lackluster of me. No one reads this anyway.

  • “I can't help it, baby: This is who I am. I'm sorry, but I can't just go turn off how I feel.” –Jimmy Eat World

     

     Dave left. I cried. Elise predicted it. It was lame... & sad. I hate that I've finally made friends worth staying with, & we're all leaving. He thought I was a freak for crying, but I couldn't NOT cry.

    <<<>>>

     

     My trip to OU was stellar, if not abrupt. It felt all too short, & I didn't get to spend enough time with anyone. On the up-side, I didn't get kicked out of anyone's house, either, so I suppose every cloud has a silver lining.

     

     I should listen to my friends' advice more often. I got into this thing where I decided advice was a bad thing, that it only ever led to me making poor choices, so I started listening only to myself... which is also not the greatest idea. I need a happy medium, because this brain of mine doesn't always function at the highest decision-making level.

    <<<>>>

     

     Things that frustrate me: When people I care about date down, when people I care about screw their lives up by dating down, and when people I care about screw their lives up by dating down & don't even realize it. On an unrelated note, other things I dislike include sweating, not getting to watch "Heroes" last night, and potentially paying $950/mo for an apartment.

     

     It would also be great if I could find a guy worth dating who is A) somewhat interested in me, B) somewhat attractive, C) somewhat intelligent, and D) entirely single. I seem to be doing all right with A through C, but D is proving to be a problem for me, & I refuse to deal with that shit. Ahhh, singledom. Thanks for nothing.

    <<<>>>

  • “It’s something unpredictable, but in the end there’s right. hope you had the time of your life.” –Greenday

     

    It’s over. Last class, last final, last newspaper, last banquet. Honestly, I couldn’t have asked for a better ending. The last two weekends have been filled with friends, fun, alcohol, laughter and memories. I know I’ve been overtly cheesy as of late, but I’m really just overcome with how great everything is.

     

    And I’m done as an undergrad. Sure, I have to complete the internship, but it’s not a class. There’s no doubt that it’ll get done, & done well. So really… I’m finished. It was so liberating to, all of a sudden, have nothing to stress about – done with my last paper, story, article, project. Everything just sloughed off on the last day – no worry or wigging. It was weird & invigorating…

     

    The last banquet w as phenomenal. Dancing, drinking, debauchery… but very little drama, on my part. I befriended Joey G.’s girlfriend & Tyrel cooked me a hot dog & I made out with a gay boy just for fun & we took oodles of pictures. And oh, yeah, Bryan bought me a dozen gorgeous roses.

     

    And last night I had a dream that I found a near-dead, shivering, freezing baby & I walked it home under my coat, in the snow, & took it to Mrs. Zach’s house. Ben Poole was there, & he gave it CPR & then we called EMS, & I cried the entire time. It was so odd. I wonder what that could mean?!!

     

    Today: Spiderman 3 with the Cocaine James boys & maybe Amanda’s graduation party tonight. One last special-edition paper to put out tomorrow, & Tuesday is online election coverage. And then I’m REALLY done.

  • “Hold your tongue tightly, wish you could be like me – you’re poppin' all that mess only to stress & to spite me.” –Salt & Pepa

     

    I’m quite interested in a certain boy. He recently told me he has a girlfriend who lives with him. Furthermore, I haven’t actually seen him in about four years. Somehow, I’m still interested. In case you were unsure, I’m a sadist. Or just ridiculous.

     

    In luckier & more exciting news, I GOT AN INTERNSHIP! Yesterday, I donned my Isaac Mizrahi power suit & NineWest pumps & trekked on up to my beloved Mistake On the Lake to interview for a position with Cleveland Magazine… & they offered it to me! I’ll be working with my best friend all summer, plus going to Indians game & becoming regulars at the neighboring Starbucks & eating dinner at the gourmet grilled cheese joint.
    <<<>>>

     

    Friday is my third & final Stater banquet. Hopefully, the third time will be a charm & I won’t do anything horrifically dramatic, as in the past. Carlson said she’ll baby-sit me, & I just may hold her to it! This weekend shall be filled with other debauchery (I hope) & various good times of the final-college-weekend variety.

    ((()))

     

    And the next weekend, I head to OU, although I’m sure some of you are screaming “WHAT THE EFF?!” about that one. I’m staying with Peebs & celebrating Greek Week & perhaps meeting up with a certain aforementioned someone. And I can’t wait!

     

    I am just so happy right now. I can’t even express it all, but it’s there. I am normal. The normal-person kind of happy, & it’s a glorious feeling. THIS IS THE GOOD LIFE. (PS, go here)

    //////

Recent Posts

Categories