Month: May 2006

  • “You break this in two ways: We are desperate, lonely & underpaid.’” –Voxtrot-


     


    I went to the FAC today for the first time as a non-employee. It was actually so depressing that when I told me my mom about the visit, I started to tear up. For as much as we all say we hate it there, that place is a sort of home. I wish I could be there this summer, but it’s time to move on…


    //////


     


    I haven’t written my 6-page rersearch paper yet… it’s due tomorrow at 9 a.m. I haven’t even looked up the articles for it. Shooooot. I’m definitely on a roll. Two more weeks of this class…


    This weekend at work was a fiasco, basically. I witnessed a coworker having a mental meltdown & I frantically took over an absent Aquatics Center in the event of a major miscommunication. A girl cracked her head open at 2:30 a.m., I hung out with some 16-year-olds in the parking lot of the Nat in the wee hours of the morn, & I didn't go to bed until 5 a.m when the birds were chirping… good stuff, eh?


    ......


    Cookout today with the lovely family at my aunt & uncle's house in Tallmadge! I haven't seen them in so long, & sometimes you just need fam-time, you know? And fam-time is even better when it involves hot dogs, baked beans and corn on the cob in 90-degree weather! Heck yesssss.
    ((()))

  • “They say time heals everything, but I’m still waiting.”Dixie Chicks-


     


    I wrote a fanfuckingtastic post & my Word aborted at random.


     


    Most disgusting thing I’ve heard in a long time: Posh Night Club has now instated bear wrestling, where any club-goer who can “pin Caesar the Bear” will win a cash prize. I’m not even an animal rights activist, but this absolutely sickens me.


    //////


     


     


    I heard Taylor Hicks’ “Do I Make You Proud?’ on my way home from the cemetery & started unexpectedly bawling. It reminded me of him… it’s been so long since I cried about him, even though I miss him every goddamn day. I hope I make him proud. This is what we dreamed about.


     


    Dixie Chicks’ “Not Ready to Make Nice” = HECK YES. I love them more than ever right now & to hell with all those right-wing hilljacks who are boycotting them just for having minds of their own in a sea of mindless celebrities.


    ((()))


     


    I wonder if it’s written in the job description that to be a nurse-type person at a physician’s office, you must be a humungous bitch. I got into a subtle verbal dual with one today, Dane-Cook-at-the-BK-Lounge style, & I left feeling fiery & just a bit defeated.


     


    I went to B-Dubs for lunch today & order chicken tenders. Instead, I was presented with LEGS. Meat on BONES. I absolutely HATE meat on bones. I was so freaking repulsed…


    ......

  • “Show me you can do this – you’ve gotta trust yourself.” –Smoosh-


     


    Today I bought a plane ticket to Washington, D.C., & I spoke with Trina, my internship coordinator. I really could not be more excited for this opportunity. I’ve spoken with my roommates, & I’m counting down the days!


    ((()))


     


    The second season of The 4400 came out on DVD yesterday, which I, of course, purchased, & Smoosh’s new album, “Free To Stay,” is available on Soulseek, so I downloaded it. It’s suuuuch a far cry from “She Like Electric,” & I adore it so far. Happyhappyhappy.


    //////


     


    I’m working 4-9 tonight, & then I have to do a crap ton of reading because I have a presentation to give tomorrow. Goddamn alphabet makes me the first presenter, as always…


    ......


     


    Not to be a snot, but is anyone out there? I sincerely wish some more people would comment on here. I kind of wonder if anyone reads this anymore… I’ll keep writing, because it’s my thing, but I’d feel better about it if I knew people were listening.

  • “I don’t want to be stuck in here when I am 34 just talkin’ ‘bout high school years.” – Rocket Summer-


     


    Basically, I have nothing exciting to say, so I haven’t updated. I’m working practically every single day, & I started my summer Ethics class, 3 hours a day, 5 days a week. The prof is interesting, though, & so I sort of enjoy the class so far. Ask me next week when I’m writing a research paper, though.


    ((()))


     


    I finally got too fat. Fat enough that I decided to start actually making an effort to be healthy. I hope I can do it. I do work at a gym, after all.


     


    I’m really into Tapes ‘n’ Tapes right now. Dumb band name, but they’re pretty fun. You know I freaking love dirty Brit pop-rock. And okay, they’re from Minneapolis, but they sound rather British…
    //////


     


    The boys move into their house on June 1st! Kevin’s already talking about their first party, probably a lot of Kopow’s friends & the ‘05ers & such. It’s nice having something petty to look forward to.


     


    And speaking of looking forward, I got my roommate assignment for the summer! My roommates’ names are Taryn, Marla & Caroline, & they’re from Michigan, Illinois & England, respectively. I can’t wait to just BE there already! (Also: Please ponder this crazy photo...?)


    ......

  • “And I am damned, but can I be saved?” –Gatsby’s American Dream-


     


    There was a piece on tonight’s news about the fastest-growing name for baby girls: Nevaeh. In case you’re slow, that’s “Heaven” spelled backward. I’m opposed to this name on principle. If you want to name your kid Heaven, don’t beat around the bush – flippin’ name her Heaven. I think that’s a trashy name, but it’s not nearly as awful as its diffident counterpart.


    //////


     


    I saw V for Vendetta with Kevin this afternoon, since it was too dreary for the Indians’ game. I liked the movie a lot but didn’t understand it entirely. I’ll probably have to see it again… & let’s be honest; the Guy Fawkes mask is terrifying.


    ((()))


     


    I never noticed how depressing John Melencamp’s “Jack & Diane” really is: “Life goes on long after the thrill of living is gone.” It’s actually, like, an anthem for the elderly, even if it’s about kids.


    ......


     


    Summer confuses my sense of time. I feel like it’s a Monday; I forget that I work tomorrow morning, not tomorrow night. I’m all confounded & out of sorts… but it’s nice to be relaxing a bit. Wednesday & Thursday are my favorite- they’re work-free!

  • “Let’s compare scars – I’ll tell you whose is worse.” –Rise Against-


     


    I really wish little kids would quit asking me whether I’m a boy or a girl. And I really wish their parents would reprimand them when they do… manners much?


    ((()))


     


    Do you think dentists ever refer to something difficult as “like pulling teeth”? I mean, really, pulling teeth for them is no big deal.


     


    I hung out with Sean last night & it was peachy. We went to Applebee’s, where we found a small rock peninsula in the flowerbeds, which he quickly rearranged into this:


    ......


     


    Announcement:


    Nathan Allen Freiman


    Born @ 8:01pm 


    May 16th, 2006


    8lbs. 4 oz., 20 in. 


    Congrats to both mommy & daddy, & best of luck to them both!


    //////


     


    Today I’m cleaning my room. And the living room. And… whatever else needs cleaned. I already did the dishes. I’m a superhero, actually.


     


    we live on front porches


    &swing life away

  • “Baby, that’s just the way it is. Lately, I’ve been the one to go crazy.” –Brandtson-


     


    SCHOOL IS OVER! Two of my four grades are posted (both A’s, so far), & it’s a relief to be done for the summer, even if I start a new class a week from tomorrow.


    ......


     


    New favorite motto: “Tough times never last, but tough people always do,” discovered on a fortune cookie slip that’s taped to the mailboxes at work.


     


    I spent last night with wwFAC/Nat people, playing some flipcup & Googling pictures of the woman who paints horses with her teeth. Laura’s boyfriend drew a particularly talented piece of artwork with his own teeth – I was thoroughly impressed. I’m actually glad not to be going back to the FAC this summer, but it was still nice to party with them a little!


    //////


     


    In other news, someone tried to hack into my Facebook recently – luckily, he/she was unsuccessful. Anyways, I had to change my password but I keep flipping forgetting it & getting rejected from my own account!


     


    This week: Work a lot. Write more columns. Update my résumé & clip file. Clean my room. Go to the thrift. RELAX.


    ((()))

  • “Nobody can bend the up & down as long as you understand the long undertow.” –Mates of State-


     


    I’m pretty sure that hardly anyone reads my Xanga anymore, which is thoroughly disheartening, but I admit that I’ve been far less witty than usual. I’m only witty when I’m miserable.


     


    My Magazine Publishing exam was tonight & I am IRATE. It was more like a game of journalistic Trivial Pursuit, or some warped media Jeopardy, because the questions were that fucking obscure.


    ......


     


    Britney Spears has another bun in the oven, ya’ hearrrd? K-Fed is clearly overly fertile, & although Britney did a nice job of appearing glamorous for about half a decade, her true white-trash colors came out all in one rainbow explosion this past year & a half. I find sad irony in the name of her newest fragrance, In Control. What a freak.  


    ((()))


     


    I studied at Luna's today & it was a festival of oddities. The girl next to me had about an inch of her buttcrack showing, which was disgusting, & in the parking lot I found a hilarious yellow car with red-tinted windows & an abundance of Tweety Bird paraphernalia, including a DIY bumper sticker. Luckily, I documented both of these for you:


    /// & ///


     


    I have nothing planned for the next week except for work. I can’t decide if that’s relieving or depressing…


     

  • “I’m really not that boring. I’m headstrong & annoying.” –Lalaine-


     


    Getting myself to study for my Magazine Publishing exam is like pulling a rabbit out of my ass – I simply cannot do it. The Apprentice is too large a distraction, primarily when it’s followed by a new episode of Law & Order & reading Wicked on commercial breaks.


    //////


     


    Yesterday went fabulously. I met with Dr. Lefton, the new president, & he seems like a good guy. I look forward to working with him next fall, & yesterday certain allayed some of the fears I was having about this administration job.


     


    I’ll also be copyediting for Artemis, the feminist magazine, & I applied for a couple other odd jobs, like reporting for The Burr and Fusion. I may be getting in deep, but at least I’m having fun. Now if I could only find a way to live on campus…


    ((()))


     


    Washington, D.C. is getting closer & closer every day, & with each passing day I’m more & more ready to get the hell out of Ohio for awhile. My best friend is in Jerusalem this month – I may not be going across the world, but the nation’s capital is far enough for me, for now.


     


    One more exam tomorrow night & I’m done with classes this semester! My Ethics class begins in two weeks, but that’s one whole week of relaxation. DIG IT.


    ...... 


     


    P.S., I’m currently obsessed with random pop/hip-hip junk that is SO not my style & I LOVE it!


    ·          LL Cool J’s “Control Myself”


    ·          Rihanna’s “Rescue Me (S.O.S.)”


    ·          Kelis’ “Bossy”

  • “At least I’m not a liar; at least I’m not a cheat. At least I don’t care what these goddamn mindless people think of me.” –Spill Canvas-


     


    Holy thrust-into-my-fall-job-before-I’m-ready-for-it-at-ALL, Batman…


     


    I spent today writing the career biography of Lester Lefton, KSU’s new president, elected & announced this morning. Tomorrow I’m attending a trustee meeting, a press conference (where I am the press), and a meet & greet. I’m absolutely terrified. I spent half an hour picking out what clothes I should wear to be the first KSU student to meet the president of the university. I’m meeting with Rachel at 9 a.m. for a quick pep talk & some mentorish advice.


     


    I keep repeating the lyric at the header of my page: “I hate to break it to you, but being a coward is not a legitimate career.” I can’t sit around forever, wishing to be someone & do something but never acting on it.


     


    This is my biggest chance so far. I CAN DO THIS. This is an awesome résumé builder, an amazing opportunity, a perfect shot that I’ve got to take. Say a little prayer for me… I’m going to need all the help I can get.

Recent Posts

Categories